The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many people tend to introduce their country to others by mentioning some of the most prominent figures in that nation’s history. It makes them feel proud of their own country and allows a sense of belonging. In my opinion, however, this imagined ‘greatness’ is not what truly determines a nation’s value. Rather, I argue that the well-being of its people demonstrates the genuine power of a country in two ways.

First of all, a great country is one where its society is integrated. A society consists of numerous different groups, in terms of economic class, gender, region, religious beliefs, etc. If the conflicts between these groups are not managed appropriately, a country may fall apart without resistance in times of hardship. Take, for example, Brazil. One of its most celebrated cities, Rio de Janeiro, enjoys the heritage of multiculturalism and economic affluence. Nevertheless, the mountainsides that look down the beaches bustling with riches and entertainment are home to millions of the poorest members of the Brazilian society. Favelas, as they are called, are replete with gunshots and illegal drugs, as powerful gangs and equally brutal police forces make war on the streets every day. These two different worlds exist only a boulevard across from each other. While the economic inequality may not have been critical to the country's power during halcyon times, the pandemic of COVID19 has revealed the irrevocable errors of the Brazilian society. Watching the news of collective infections in slums and drug towns, false vaccine injections, and call for presidential impeachment, no one would consider Brazil a desirable, nor even healthy, country. As we can see through this example, a country whose citizens are not unified for economic and social reasons cannot withstand the crisis as fatal as the ongoing epidemic.

Some could still argue that the international status of a country is mostly enhanced by the accomplishments of intellectuals, artists, and politicians. Regardless of the crisis, people will remember France as the nation of Van Gogh and Victor Hugo; Poland as the birthplace of the legendary scientist that was Marie Qurie. Nonetheless, in many cases, the quality of life of the general population is not directly affected by an artist's prowess or scientific insight. A country could invest all its resources to nurture a handful of geniuses, but still neglect the basic needs of most of its citizens. For instance, even with all the influential entrepreneurs like Mawin of Alibaba and the movie stars like Jackie Chan, would China deserve the title of greatness when it persecutes its people who cry for freedom and democracy in Hong Kong? As long as war continues on the border regions next to Tibet, making millions of people to flee from their ancestors' lands, China with all its thousands of years of priceless cultural heritage will not be truly appreciated as a admirable nation by the generations to come.

In conclusion, a greatness of a country cannot be evaluated based solely on the brilliance of a few elites. There is no guarantee that their talents will be beneficial to the society in whole. The true determining factor of the value of a nation is the happy life of the ordinary people.