The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the vice president of the food distribution company, the author argues that the company opt for the service of Buzzoff Pest Control Company for all of its food storage warehouses instead of employing another company, Fly-Away, at the same time for economy’s sake. The vice president has reached this conclusion based on the comparison between the amount of loss of food in the two warehouses in Palm City and Wintervale and on the calculation of cost between maintaining status quo and returning to full entrustment to Buzzoff. However, before this argument can be fully evaluated, three evidences must be provided.

First of all, the author needs to supply the evidence that the difference of the amount of the food destroyed in the warehouse in Palm City and the one in Wintervale is caused by the two companies’ abilities to prevent pest. It may be that the infrastructure of the Palm City warehouse was more dated than the Wintervale storage system. Thus, even if the two companies were level in terms of their service quality, the distinct environments of each warehouse resulted in the difference of $10,000 worth of loss. Another possibility is that climate in Palm City is markedly more detrimental to fast-food storing or pest control, and thus, more loss is inevitable. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the vice president must bring the evidence that demonstrates the performance of each company considering the before-and-after of the warehouses of their responsibility. Perhaps, the loss of food in Palm City storage system was greater than $20,000 before Fly-Away took control. Buzzoff, on the other hand, might have failed to maintain its service and destroyed more stock than last year. In this way, Fly-Away could have saved more money than what Buzzoff had lost. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, the evidence that current condition will lead to the same consequences in the future should be offered. There is a possibility that Fly-Away’s service improve beyond expectation in the years to come. Given that it was only recently that Fly-Away started managing the warehouses, after a few more years of experience, it would find the optimal way to reduce damage. If Buzzoff takes control of the entire storage system’s pest issue, it might apply the same method for various types of environments and might not succeed in curtailing the loss below $10,000 per month, whereas Fly-Away performs better while charging less. In this case, the strength of the argument is dwindled.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president is able to provide the evidences above through more detailed investigation, then it will be possible to properly evaluate the validity of the proposal to replacing Fly-Away completely with Buzzoff.