The surest indicator of a great nation is represented by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

In the contemporary world, there are many factors that are used to measure whether a nation is great enough. Many people believe that the most important indicator of an excellent country is represented by the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists rather than the general welfare of its residents. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this idea for the reason that the welfare of citizens of a nation is the most essential element to measure a country if it is an illustriousness nation.

First of all, many people may hold the view that the achievements of its rulers, artists and scientists are crucial for a nation to reflect its great. The reason they hold is that both these factors could influence either the local people or the whole world, if they create a variety of treasures in those fields. For example, if an artist is famous for his productions, he would influence his country by his works and he would also be popular all over the world so that he reflects the success of a nation. Jack Chen is a famous actor for his excellent martial arts action. He has appeared in many films and left a lot of classic images in movies. Both these products are great indicators of his nation since he has been popular around the world. Moreover, 5G will be an advanced technology around the world in the future. If a country could solve the problems about 5G and invent some skills in advance, it will not only make benefit for its residents but also play an important role in the international world. Therefore, those who support the achievements of its rulers artists and scientists represent a great nation would totally agree that only all fields listed above could indicate a great nation.

However, although both these developments related to rulers artists and scientists may reveal the success of a country, the most important factor for me is the general welfare of its people. Because all of the residents are composed of a country, if they still live in a harsh environment, even if the rulers, artists or scientists have made great progress, I have to say that this country could not be defined as a great country. For example, there are many famous countries around the world like Switzerland. Although Switzerland does not have very advanced technology or famous artists, it is still a great nation and its good reputation has been admitted by the whole world. People may ask why? It is definitely because of the good welfare of its citizens. They live in a beautiful environment, they have a good education system, hospitals, working conditions and so on. People who live there will not worry about losing jobs or getting ill. Since if these circumstances happen, the government will help them to solve it not just totally by themselves. Hence, in my opinion, I strongly support that good welfare could reveal a great nation.

To sum up, even if the achievements of rulers artists and scientists are important for a country to indicate its success, I still think that welfare is the crucial indicator for a great country since only when the people live a happy life and they can get good welfare can this nation be called great in the true sense.