The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nations progress is determined by the way it contributes to the welfare of its own people, progress in scientific, cultural, arts, infrastructure and economy; facilitate the common people to live a better life. Although, achievement of a nation is led by the great people who lead the society in all fields example freedom fighters, scientist, artist, and politicians. The populace and the common people are the true reflectors of the great nation and contribute to the society considerably; it is their quality of life, which is taken into account of the true Great nation and not the groundbreaking revelation

At first, scientist, politicians and rulers are the ones who set the directions for the common people. Kepler, was a solo contributor to the field of scientific research and made some ground breaking revelations and contributed to the society. Subverting the common belief Kepler was able to bring in the theory of sun, as the center of the solar system, debunking the previous notion of Ptolemaic- earth being the center of universe. Such Individual achievements truly represents the nation’s importance and greatness, and emerge as icon for the rest of the world.

However, majority of the representation of greatness in a nation are the true common people. What is the use of the new invention of technology by an individual who just serves the discovery to the rest of the world? How will that help public in their day-to-day life? Mere discovering a distant star in the Cosmos by scientist or the astronomers landing on Moon will never help solve the social problem, which the common people face in the country. India launched Chandrayaan 1 lately investing billions of dollars, had the money used for the general welfare of the poor by some scheme, we would have utilized the money for the true progress of the nation, by eradicating the poverty and making and providing the education for poor children who cannot afford education.

In sum, individual achievements do reflect the nation’s progress, but the true representations of the nation’s success are the common people, and the quality of their life that tells the nations development and greatness.