The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Kensington Academy decided to have a a private vendor for their cafeteria services in their premise, that eventually prompted one of the parent of the school to think that, having choosen Swift Nutrition, that provides healthier food with low-fats, low calories etc will motivate the children to bring the food by their own which may not be healthy and would serve adversely to the intended plan. However, these reasons may have to be accessed for the following two factors.

First of all, if the children are convinced by the adverse effect of all the high calories and junk food they should be able to opt for the one which is healthier. For instance, St Paul school in the Los-Angeles county recently found to have the Healthy food canteen that served stuffs fool of vegetables, low-calories etc. Before the inauguration of the canteen, St Paul school committee had a counselling with all the parents with their children to convince the importance of healthy food and how they can opt for it over the junk foods. With this they were able to successfully implement the idea. If such of counselling are activities are carried out routinely with parents and children then the idea of Kensington Academy to have a, swift Nutrition will serve the purpose.

Secondly, low-calorie and low-fat food doesn't necessarily be tasteless or not delicious. It's upon the cook that it all depends to make it work and taste delicious and is more of cook skills. For instance, a recently Healthy Diet hotel opened in the suburbs of california, serves low fat food and most of the nearby people ques up to place their order and McDonald's just beside is empty and has no customers. If this is true, Swift Nutrition will be able to maintain the good taste and children would not opt of junk food from outside.

The conclusion that Swift replacement has to access the above reasons and requires more awareness programs from Kensington for the parents and children to implement and maintain Swift Canteen and serve healthier food for children. The Swift Canteeen should also come up with more tastier recepies to keep the canteen going. These factors will certainly help children opt for healthier food.