In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Great achievements in life come by strong determination and persistence in the efforts and a small luck which make the desired results possible and will need to success. The prompt says that the strong achievements in the past are the only ones that contribute to our goals, I do partially agree to the stance that the past achievements in the same field help boost our confidence to achieve even greater results, however, I completely disagree that they are the only ones that will help and contribute to our endeavor. Had the past achievements were the only factors, then those past achievements would inturn be influenced by the previous past achievements and therefore , this recursion would continue until there is the precedence set by the individual itself. Individual experts in the relevant field we desire to achieve are also the influencing factors which help us in the right direction and reach tour destiny.

At first, it’s important to note that perseverance and relentless efforts are the key factors for anything we try to achieve in our life. The famous cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar, having world class track record set an exceptional example for the same. Despite hailing from the poor family, his dream to become a best batsman was unhindered. With ease he was able to achieve Ranji trophy, but failed to enter the International cricket team for atleast. Taking his failed attempts as accolades and stepping stoe to success, he was able to attempt it for the 36th time and he was selected. Tremendous amount of focus and consistence in practice contributed to his success. Its imperative to have the ‘never give up’ attitude to achieve things what we deserve and desire.

Secondly, motivation from the expert in the concerned field plays important role. Take example of Jack Pollack, his aim was to be a great canvas painter in the Roman era. He was inspired and motivated by the Rafael Giovven, who had dominated the canvas sculptures in the 18th century. Pollack , went on to seek guidance from Rafael to throw the canvas art out of the window and went few steps ahead to reach the acme , by producing phenomenal art and set the precedence for the rest in the field.

In sum, its not the past achievements that help contribute to the endeavor, but it’s the continuous efforts, and perseverance that help us achieve our dreams. We should always aspire to acquire the desire we admire, if we perspire, never retire, rather refire to acquire the desire which we admire.