The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement a

This statement points out that the greatness of a nation is represented buy tthe fortune prossessed by the people. This statement seems plausible at first glance, but actually neglect the contribution from other aspect of the society. The great nation that hestorists defined are never only rich in the prossessment of its people, but flourshed in extensive ways, including the science, art and also other subject like architecture. The british empire had so much impact to the world not only because it reached the economy properity much earlier before other countries, but also depend on the advanced technology on shipmaking and the manufacture of firearms. The success of the WW2 indeed shows the giant economic power of the ally countries, the scientific invention such as atom bombs also accelerate this process.

Looking back at the history, not a sigle country could become "great" only from the high income of the citizens. The country weak at culture and science could never be seen as a superpower. Indeed some of the country in the middlesat reach a much higher income than people in other countries depending on their resource, but until now it's still ridiculous to call them great nations. The universities, research deparments, and the artists could not compare with what we could consider as a great nation, such as the U.S. and China. With fewer scientific achievements are notable worldwide, less art virtuosos renowen, it indicated that there's still long way to go unitil they became a great nation.

On the other hand, if we serious consider where the people's welfare comes from, it could be elusibale that why a nation's greatness does not only depend on the weath. Take present days as an example, a country that is not highly- industrilzed has little chance to become great. Given that only the advanced techonology and industry could help a country get more employment, taxes and etc. Only when a nation has a pillar industry that strong enough to sableize its economy, the higher employment rate and salaries could be achieve.