The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The term 'great' is subjective. It depends upon people to describe what 'great' means to them. For me, for a nation to be great, it should be prosperous and the denizens of the nation should be happy. In that regard, I believe that general welfare of the people which determines people’s happiness is the biggest indicator of the greatness of a nation.

Although there are numerous indicators of a nation's identity, the biggest identity of a nation is its people. In that sense, the prosperity of a nation can be linked with the prosperity of the citizens. Because there are many people who are dependent on a country, the true reflector of a country's success is the opportunities it provides to its citizens to pursue happiness. If the citizens are rich, the economy of the country prospers which allows the nation to develop more. In addition, if the citizens are unhappy, they become mutinous and the nation faces political instability which scotches the nation's chances to become great.

In addition, when the residents have a sense of gratitude towards their nation, they feel obliged to work hard and pay their nation back. This allows further development. If the residents feel that their country has not done much for them, they do not feel a sense of moral responsibility towards their nation and will to leave the country if possible. For instance, in Nepal, a developing country in South Asia, many citizens are becoming expatriates and choosing to live in other countries because they feel that there are few opportunities in Nepal. Losing its skilled citizens injures the already weak economy of a country like Nepal and thus does not allow development.

Although achievements of individuals might indicate that there are opportunities in the nation for people to succeed, it does not assure prosperity of the citizens and thus does not ensure greatness. For example, Soviet Union during the cold war era had almost equal scientific and technological achievements as that of the United States. However, its economy crumbled and the nation degenerated. Although there might be various factors for its degeneration, prosperity of its citizens can be one of the factors. The per capita income of the citizens of USSR was never comparable to that of the USA, and therefore, when its economy became unstable, people could not help the nation and the economy plummeted. From this example, we can realize that despite having a repertoire of scientific achievements, stability cannot be achieved without welfare and prosperity of the citizens.

At length, achievements do indicate prosperity. However, the general welfare and happiness of the citizens is a must for a country to become stable, and therefore, welfare of the citizens is a sure indicator of a nation's greatness.