The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The proposed explanation less number of job accidents at the Panoply industry is that because the work shifts are shorter, the workers are getting less tired and therefore are less liable of facing on-the-job accidents. While this explanation can be a valid explanation for what is observed, it is certainly not the only explanation. Since the explanation makes certain assumptions such as pointing out length of work shifts as the only difference between the industries, the explanation is fallible. And, many other explanations can account for the observed difference in the job related accidents in the two industries.

Firstly, while the products of the two industries may be similar, the way of manufacturing them can be different. The Panoply industry might use machines that are worker friendly and decrease the chances of accidents whereas the manufacturing company might utilize heavy machineries that can injure the workers. Further, the working conditions inside the factories might be different. For instance, if the manager in the manufacturing company pushes the workers to their limits by not giving them any time to rest, the workers will certainly be more injury prone. Hence, the working conditions such as the treatment to the workers and the types of machines used can be more responsible for determining the frequency of work related injuries.

In addition to it, the selection criteria for employees or workers can significantly affect the frequency of workplace injuries. If panoply hired skilled and strong workers, they would be mentally and physically be adept at handling the equipment in the industry. On the other hand, if the new company hired fledgling workers who are liable of making mistakes, they would also be more liable of being injured in the work place. Thus, Panoply hiring skilled workers can account for the less number of injuries in Panoply.

Moreover, it is also possible that Panoply is not reporting the actual number of injuries. This is certainly probable in situations where there are government regulations requiring industries to minimize work related injuries. For instance, if the industries in the city had to pay penalties for certain number of injuries in the workplace, Panoply may choose to hide the real number of injuries by producing counterfeit reports or by persuading its workers not to report the injuries. In such a case, the report of the Panoply industry would not reflect its true number of injuries. Therefore, while at the surface the difference in number of accidents might seem large, in reality there might not be a significant difference.

As we have seen, there are more than one explanation that are equally plausible and can explain the reason why there is a difference between the number of workplace injuries in the two factories. Therefore, reaching to a conclusion without considering other possible explanation is certainly not ideal.