The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above argument is based on multiple assumptions. Despite the fact that the argument seems convincing, if we question the assumptions, we can see that there are different explanations that can account for the situation and not just the difference between the work shifts in the two factories.

First of all, the argument assumes that all the on-the-job accidents are repaorted. This assumption, however, may not be true. If workers in Panoply face consequences of reporting accidents then the reported accidents in panoply would, expectedly, be low. For example, there can be a rule in Panoply which says that an injured worker must leave the job. In this case, many people would not report accidents to prevent losing their job. Hence, Panoply would have less reports. Thus, we see that other factors leading to less accident reporting in panoply can also be the cause of the apparent difference in people reporting.

Along with the possibility of less people willing to report accidents in Panoply, one cannot write out the possibility of Panoply applying impressive safety measures. If Panoply paid a lot of attentiaon to workplace safety, it is very likely that accidents in Panoply would decrease. Hence, not just reduced work hours but enhanced safety can also lead to reduced number of accidents.

In addition to Panoply having great worker safety, there is also a chance that the newly opened factory is dangerous to workers. As it is a new company, the company might not be stable and the the managers might be focused more on issues more important issues like finances rather than worker safety. This can lead to unsafe working conditions which, in turn, will lead to more accidents in the workplace.

It is possible that longer shifts lead to increased accidents, particularly when the experts are saying it. But, as discussed in this essay, there are other situations which can lead to the higher number in the new factory and not just the difference in shifts. Hence, ascribing the entire 30 percent more accidents to longer work shifts can be faulty.