Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Human activities have caused massive destruction of the environment. This has led to dwindling of natural resources and loss of habitats for flora and fauna. This, indeed, has resulted in ecological imbalance, and the effect of it is evident through processes like greenhouse effect and global warming. Hence, human activities have already impacted the environment a lot, and thus, we need to start focusing on preserving the environment even if it means giving up lucrative gains we get from nature.

We, human beings, are also dependent upon nature. Our existence is contingent upon a suitable environment, and we are not capable of surviving even if there is a slight change in the environmental conditions. With the continuous degradation of the environment, much of which is caused by economic motives of humans, the earth is continuously getting unsuitable to live. The present flora and fauna actually contribute to maintain the balance required for us to survive. They help maintaining the ecosystem, which is imperative to our existence. Even with the extinction of one species, the whole ecosystem gets imbalanced and this causes problems to humans too. One prime example of this imbalance happened in Amazon where people killed the carnivores for fur. With the lack of carnivores, the population of herbivores quadrupled and this led to destruction of the entire forest. At the end, even the herbivores died due to lack of food. The lack of granary caused decrease in rainfall and obviously decrease in gases like oxygen. Hence, the existence of humans in the place was put to danger. This example illustrates how profit driven activities by humans end up hurting humans themselves. Thus, it makes me believe that when it comes to environment, the economic motives should be sidelined and preservation should be prioritized.

Also, it is not entirely true that preservation of environment comes at the expense of economic benefit we can get from natural resources. For examples, national parks help preserve wilderness while enabling us to make economic gain by attracting more tourists. Even though establishing national park increases surveillance in the area, and thus, requires the government to invest time and effort in the area, the ultimate result is profitable to both the economy as well as the nature. Therefore, there are measures, like establishing national parks or wildlife reserves, that help preservation of wilerness without compromising the economic profit we can make from natural resources. Thus, even if we care about making economic benefit out of natural resources, there can be ways in which we still prioritize on conservation and make profit at the same time.

Hence, the most important thing for our existence is the environment itself, and the wildresness is imperative in maintaining a good environemt. There are ways in which we can economically benefit from the environment whitout hurting the wildresness. Therefore, I conclude that we should always make preservation of wildresness our priority, even if we need to cut down the economic profit we make out of them.