"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The reasoning that is provided in the recommendation is that reducing the number of mopeds rented per company will reduce the accidents by 50 percent. In my opinion, this reasoning is, in itself, not binding and various questions are needed to be answered in order to consider the recommendation.

First of all, the basis of the reasoning is the results obtained in the neighboring island of Seaville. While it might be true that Seaville implemented the recommended step of limiting rental mopeds for a company, there may have been other measures taken in Seaville which might have been the primary factor behind reduced accidents. For example, it is possible that Seaville implemented strict traffic rules like strict speed limits or stern punishments for driving under intoxication. These rules, and not reduced number of rental mopeds, might have been the main reason for the decrease in accidents. In this case, the argument might lose validity. Hence, while considering the recommendation it is imprtant to know whether Seaville implemented other policy changes that could have caused the reduction in number of accidents.

Another case in which the argument can be undermined is when the number of mopeds in the street remain the same even if the policy is applied. This can happen if there are more moped rental companies being formed in Balmer. It is obvious that there will always be demand of mopeds in Balmer, since it is the primary means of transport in Balmer. If the available moped companies are not able to supply required number of mopeds, the demand will cause other companies to be established. Hence, even if the companies are not allowed to rent more than 50 mopeds per day, formation of new companies may lead to same number of mopeds in the street. Hence, in order to test if this scenario is possible, it is imperative to know if there are rules which restrict the number of moped rental companies to be established in the area. If there are such rules, then the argument makes a strong case, but if there are not, the above mentioned scenario might occur and the efforts made by the island administration will be futile.

Finally, there are doubts over the certainlty with which the reduction in accidents occur if the number of mopeds are reduced. We need to know if there are enough data that actually show that such drastic change reduction can actually occur merely by reducing the number of mopeds. If there are strong emprical evidence, then the recommendatin can be taken into consideration. If there is not not much data, it is a drivel to believe in such recommendation.

It is likely that there is a correlation between reduction in number of motor vehicles and simultaneous reduction in road accidents. keeping that in mind, the island will likely do more research and consider ways to reduce number of mopeds. However, it is very important for the island to consider the above mentioned questions before deciding whether or not to follow the recommendation.