Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The purpose of education is to make individuals competent so that they can go ahead and live a successful life. Institutes play a major role in the process as they not only provide the textbook education but also affect in how students develop their understanding of the world. What students are taught in their schools hugely affects how they think about their career or their life. I believe, if institutions focus merely on job security, they will cause students to be narrow-minded and will cause the students to lack the inspiration to be truly successful in life.

In this competitive world, in order to be standout, one needs hard work is the only path to success. In order for a person to continue working hard, one needs a true inspiration, which I believe money cannot provide. Therefore, one can never do well even on a well-paid job if the job is not something he/she loves. If institutions encourage students to choose jobs of specific field, it is more than likely that students will end up choosing jobs that they feel were never made for them. Hence, they lack the necessary inspiration to do the job.

Also in this demanding world, inspiration is merely not enough. One needs talent in order to succeed. Talent is something inborn, something shaped by nature and nurture. If one individual is extremely talented in one field, it is unlikely that he/she will be equally talented in another field. When people are encouraged to follow their talent, it is sure that they will outclass people with less talent on the same field. For example, if I have a great talent for physics, I will surely surpass people who do not have much talent for physics but are merely trying to get in because physics is lucrative. In this case, even when the job security for physics may be less, I will still get a good job because I would have surpassed others because of my talent.

Hence, even when people say that money is really important in life and a secure job option is necessary to ensure a quality life with strong finances, I happen to disagree with it. Although I tend to agree with the first part of their statement, I believe that inspiration and talent is vital in having a financially sound career. And, talent is utilized and inspiration comes only when students are allowed to pursue the career they are interested in pursuing. Hence, I strongly believe they should be allowed to choose their career and the institutions should not interfere in this process.