Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

For many scientific reasearch, especially those that are of potentially huge significance, funding is an integral issue. We have witnessed a lot of projects that are shut down because of the the lack of funding, and many have been possible only because of extravagent funding. Governments, which are a tremendous source of funding, play an important role to carry out many of these research, and this makes governmnet's decision to fund a research really important. I believe, since government plays such big role in determining the outcome of our scientific strivings, it should still fund a research even if the outcome of the research is not clear.

Science has always been about finding the unknown. A lot of time, we start a scientific research with a limited knowledge and end up with an expaned one. It is rare that we already know the outcome of the research before the research is done, and thus, there is barely a way to predict the significance of the research before the research is done. Hence, if we stick to a dogma that government should only fund the projects with definite result, we might not be able to to start even a single project. On the contrary, if scientific projects have the financial backing from the government, most, if not all the researches will produce results that will contibute to advancement of science and the nation.

Being able to start a research on a subject we have little knowledge is useful not just if the project succeds but also if it fails. Even if the project fails, we will have a better idea of when such research can fail and what to do and what not to do the next time we carry out the same research. Thus, failure of an indefinite experiemnt can serve to increase the definiteness of the research when done the next time. Therefore, it is important to get started with the research, and more often than not, it can only be done with the financial aid from the government.

I do concede to the fact that many researches on which the government invested a lot of money never produce the result equivalent to the money spent. This is the reaseon why people would urge the government to invest only on projects with certitude. However, scientific research is a field where the benefit can far outweigh the risk. Even if the government ocassionally loses mpney in some researches, the results of most researches have greatly contributed to the society and the economy. Hence, the fruit of taking the risk eventually falls into the basket of the government.