The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The article assumes that because the unemployment rate has not changed, the two newly established factories have not helped providing employment to the residents of Dillton. However, there can be alternative explanations to this scenario.

It is possible that the population of Dillton increased over the last two year. Because of the increase in population, even when the two companies provided employment to more than 1000 people, there was still an increase in number of unemployed people in the same proportion. For example, if the population of Dillton was ten thousand and 2000 of them were unemployed, the unemployment rate would be 20 percent. If the factories were formed after the increase in population of 1200 people, the employment of 1000 people would make the unemployment rate roughly the same. Hence, population increase can be an explanation to this situation.

Along with the possibility of increase in population of Dillton, one cannot rule out the chance that some other factories or offices were closed in Dillton. Even though the city council lowered corporate taxes and provided grants, there could have been other factors for the closing of factories in Dillton. For example, if there were cement factories in Dillton and if the mines near Dillton were out of Limestone, the factories in Dillton would have no option but to close or relocate themselves. In this case, despite two new companies being added and despite city providing subsidiaries, people would still be losing jobs. Therefore, the unemployment rate would still remain the same, in spite of the fact that the two new factories serve to provide employment to Dillton residents.

Finally, there is a possibility that the all the workers working in the two new factories came from the existing factories in Dillton. In this case, if there were no more people in Dillton capable of working in the factories, the other factories in Dillton would have to hire workers from outside the city. Hence, even if the people form outside the city came to Dillton, they could be going to other factories to fill in the void created by dillton residents switching to the new factories. Even in this scenario, there would be no new person in Dillton getting a job, and thus, the unemployment would not change.

Hence, there are other possible cases which can explain the situation, and therefore, it is faulty to conclude that the two new factories are not providing any employment to the residents of Dillton.