Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Natural resources are depleting. Increasing population is adding more pressure on the environment because of which climate change and other ecological effects are becoming more prominent. If the wilderness areas are continuously used for economic purposes, all the resources found in the wilderness will be used up and more environmental effects will be evident. Therefore, it is a responsibility of nations to preserve the environment by preserving the wilderness.

Firstly, economic development does not necessarily require wilderness to be used. There are different ways in which economic growth can be achieved without harming the environment. If policies are made to ensure that the wilderness is not harmed for economic gain, people seeking economic gain will be pushed to seek new methods which would allow them to use the resources without jeopardizing the wild. We are in the twenty first century, and much work has already been done for sustainable development without impacting the environment. Therefore if people try, it is not entirely impossible to gain economic development without harming the wilderness.

Further, protecting the wilderness will also protect natural resources which can later be used for economic gain. For instance, there may be plants in the forest that have medicinal values. If the forest is protected and if the plants are utilized to develop medicine from them, the medicine can be sold to gain money. Thus, by protecting the wilderness in its natural state, natural resources can be protected, and the resources can in turn be economically propitious.

Opponents of the opinion that nations should protect the wilderness at any cost will argue that human development is more important, and it can only be achieved through economic growth. Although I concede that addressing human issues is the most important for us, using wilderness for economic growth will be extremely short sighted. Although it might seem lucrative to use natural sites for financial gain, in the long run when natural resources deplete and the environmental changes, it will be humans who will suffer. Thus, protecting the wilderness will be a long term investment for human good.

At length, it is crucial that we protect the environment along with the wilderness. Protecting wilderness will eliminate the chances of paucity of natural resources which will ensure long term prosperity. Moreover, at an age when scientific development has surpassed much of human expectation, it is certainly possible achieve prosperity without harming the wilderness.