Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Science and technology have achieved heights that have never been achieved earlier. The power of science in the contemporary world can hardly be understated. However, this power is accompanied by the ability to create tremendous destruction. Therefore, the government or any agency that funds research projects should be circumspective while putting their money on it. Because governments should be responsible towards their citizens as well as towards the entire world and because misuse science can cause unforeseen disasters, I firmly support the proposition that governments should not fund scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

First of all, there are plethora of instances where science has been misused. Tools of modern warfare are all products of scientific development. Therefore, the governments need to realize the potential of scientific researches to cause mass destruction. While it may be true that governments should spend on research for their defense purposes, governments should not overlook research which can create something dangerous to the nation or to the world. Thus, if the government implements the policy of not funding researches with uncle consequences, it can prevent possible accidents.

Even if the issue is not related to defense or security, government should still not spend in research without clear outcomes. After spending a significant amount of money, which is derived from the tax paid by the citizens, if the research turns out to be abortive, the money is wasted. As the government should hold the responsibility of utilizing every penny of its residents, it should be absolutely certain of where the money is being spent. When the government follows the norm of sponsoring only those research projects that will fruitful, the government can be sure that the money paid by the people is used for the benefit of the people. Therefore, any government implementing this policy will be looked upon by the people as a responsible government.

People supporting the argument that government should be lenient towards research without clear consequences will base their argument on the fact that all research might not have a clear outcome even if the intent of the reason is good and not funding the research will discourage those researchers. Although it might be true that some research which are done without the clear idea of the outcome have yielded good outcomes, when it comes to a government, a responsible body, the risk is not worth taking mainly because the outcomes can be negative or fruitless. Further, the scientists should have the ability to convince the government in what they are looking for and how beneficial the consequences can be. Only if the risk is worth taking, the government should fund those research projects.

At length, with the development of science, the liability of misuse of science causing havoc has also increased. A judicious government should take absolute caution against it. Further, the government should able to answer its citizens where their tax money is invested. If a scientific research fails, the money is wasted. Therefore, if a government makes a norm of not funding in research without clear outcomes, it avoids the chances of disasters and will be certain about where people’s money is spent.