People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is always better to make conscious choices. Decisions that are taken after enough cerebration are more likely to yield better results than decisions taken in a hurry. Further, after analyzing the consequences, we are better prepared for what is expected to come. Thus, when it comes to taking risky decisions or performing risky actions, using a considerable amount of time thinking about the ramifications of the actions is always recommended.

First of all, I define risky actions as those actions which can have negative outcomes. As the outcomes can be detrimental, people should always try to avoid those actions. If evading the action is not possible, thinking about how it can be done to obtain better results always helps. For instance, if a mountain climber is aware of the fact that he/she can lose his/her life if he/she does not properly follow the guidelines for climbing, the climber will be extra cautious and the risks of losing life or injuring oneself decreases. Thus, acknowledging that risks exist and preparing to avoid those risky consequences will help in preventing the negative consequences.

In addition to it, being prepared for the consequences helps people be mentally and physically ready for the negative outcomes. While performing venturesome actions, it is always better to be prepared for the worst. Let us take an example of two paragliders. One of them is aware of the dangers of paragliding and has health and life insurance. The other is obsessed only with the fun associated with the sport and does not have any insurance. If both of them face accidents, the first would be able to pay for his/her medical bills or his/her family can get some money if he/she dies. However, the second paraglider will have to pay for his/her bill by himself/herself and the family will not get anything if he/she dies. Hence, expecting negative consequences and preparing for them helps while undertaking bold actions.

Although being prepared for the consequences is ideal, it is not always pragmatic. In decisions that are time bound, people might not get enough time to think. For example, if an airplane is hijacked and the officials are given only five minutes to decide, they cannot spend a lot of time thinking about the consequence and should take an action that seems the best at that situation. However, even in such cases, trying to utilize any available time might be beneficial in optimizing the possibility of a desired outcome.

At length, whenever time permits, it is better to think about the outcomes of a risky action. This would make sure that people try to avoid undesired outcomes and also be indemnified against the possible losses incurred. Sometimes, people might not get enough time to think about all the consequences, but making attempts to think about the major consequences increases the chances of getting better results.