"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The problem Dillton is facing is that its unemployment rate is not changing even with some factories being added in the city. The proposed explanation is that the factories are hiring out-of-town workers, and thus the unemployment rate is not changing. While it might be a possible explanation of the problem, it is certainly not the only possible exegesis. And, because the argument fails to consider other possible causes of the problem, the argument is not persuasive.

First of all, the city of Dillton might have a very high population. For instance, if a hundred thousand people work in the c...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.