Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teachers are of cardinal importance to any society and a society can never develop beyond the capacity or level of sophiscation of its teachers since these are the people that instill values into the populace. Therefore, discussion of the factor on which the renumeration of teachers should be based in of importance and I believe that teachers’ salary payment should not be made solely on the academic performance of their students due to the fact that there are a lot of factors that affect the academic performance of students apart from the teachers’ performances and some other cogent reasons.

Firstly, there are a lot of factors, including environment, parent’s educational level, and student’s interest, that define the performance of a student academically. Various researches have shown that pupils who have well educated and dedicated parents tend to do better than those with illiterate parents because these parents would be able to help the student with his/her assignments and weak areas. Such literate parents also tend to appreciate the value of education more thereby investing as much as they can into it. Another important factor is the environment (both in school and at home). The environment a pupil is has a very strong impact on the academic development of such student. A tudent who is almost always in very loud environment might find it difficult to have time to read and this would definitely affect such student. Therefore, due to the fact that these factors can also impact the performance of a student, it would be unfair to base the renumeration of teachers on the academic performance of the students.

Secondly, although some might argue that student’s output is a very good factor to base the salary of a teacher on because it can be easily determined, such decision might have negative impact on the students because the teachers might just start grading the students with simple questions that the students are supposed to know in a bid to increase their own salary. This in turn hobbles the academic development of such child. Since what we are after is the development of the students, not an easy way out, I believe the salaries of teachers should be based on more holistic factors.

In conclusion, academic excellence should not be the only expectation from students. Students are expected to possess moral and social uprightness to. So, basing teachers’ salaries on academics alone is tantamount to neglecting other parts of education. In conclusion, due to the fact that several factors affect the academic importance of students and the fact that teacgers may start grading the students favourably that how they have actually performed in the academics, it is not advisable to follow the recommendation that teachers should be paid salaries that are commensurate with their students academic output.