Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The influence of parents in the well-being and overall development of mammals (humans inclusive) cannot be overstated. Right from birth, the progeny picks up different traits from its parents.

To teach effectively, the teacher should be able to relate with the emotional, social and mental needs and status of the learner. The fact that parents are able to relate with this needs better than any other person makes them the best teacher a child can ever have. For example, the world renowned footballer, Cristiano Ronaldo has being training, Ronaldo Jnr, his kid to be a footballer from a tender age and today, Ronaldo Jnr is arguable the best footballer, in his age group, in the world. This is possible because he has been training under the supervision of his father. He may not have been this good if the case had been different.

In addition, the level of effectiveness of a teacher is dependent on the longevity of his influence on the learner. Various successful men have rightly recognized their parents as the main factor in their success stories. Barack Obama and Ben Carson are examples of great men who have attributed the cause of their success to their mothers. Parents are not just teachers, they are motivators, role-models and nuturers. They can always be described with adjectives that one would use to describe an effective teacher. It is an obvious fact that parents have long-lasting influence on various aspect of a child's live and some people stick what they have learnt from their parents till their last days. This reinforces my believe that parents are the best teachers.

In conclusion, parents do not only impart knowledge. they are also role-models, councellors, motivators and nurturers. They have long-lasting influence on the life of their wards and also possess the qualities that would be found in the best of teachers and I believe they are the best set of teachers anybody can ever have.