To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The main cities in a society may tend to show different features when compared to other parts of the society. However, if you study these main cities on a profound level, you would notice that they share the the same important features with other parts of the society, albeit, with different level of intensity. Therefore, to fully comprehend the feature of a society, you must be willing to study the main cities in that society.

Lagos, a major city in the western part of Nigeria, is somewhat different from the surrounding cities, and this may lead you to wrongly infer that the features of the society of the western part of Nigeria cannot be determined by studying Lagos. However, if you look closely at that society, you would notice that the changes observed in Lagos is a s a result of one of the intrinsic feature of the society; that is the hospitality of the people. This has led to the convergence of people of different ideologies and views in that area, leading to the observed change in the society.