Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Teachers’ effectiveness eventually should emanate in the performances of their students. As everyone should receive a salary equal to his/her efficiency in the society, it is generally an advisable claim to base teachers’ salaries on the performances of the students. Nevertheless, there are qualifications and concerns in the nature and the methods of such evaluation that should primarily be met.

To begin with, it is not fair to evaluate the students’ performance in a vacuum, and then regulate their educator’s salaries upon that evaluation; in shaping the academic status of a student, several factors play their role. The student per se, family, society, peers, the educational system, and the teacher make a set of main factors determining the academic results of the students. For a fraction of the students’ performance would be due to the teachers, we cannot totally tie the efficiency of the teachers to the students’ academic trends.

Furthermore, if we assign teachers’ income entirely based on the students’ accomplishments, the academic results of the students may be manipulated. When educators sense that their economic life is at stake, they may appeal to some wrong ways in order to maintain their salary at a satisfying level. The teachers can take the exams quite easily that every student can have better results, but it is a misrepresentation. Even if the exams hardness remains the same, the teacher may inflate the grades. With these possibilities we see that we cannot tie the teachers’ remuneration only to the academic performances.

However, there should be a difference between the income of the teachers who teach properly and those who do not. In the academic ambiances the tenured faculty members should not be lulled into complacency that no matter what, they will have their salaries. Conversely, the teachers who are ambitiously care for the students and try to augment their educational level should be motivated that the system is recognizing their exclusive attempts.

Finally, with two qualifications, we can standardize the payment of the teachers. First, in assessing the students’ success, we need to see the exact function of the teachers, not to unfairly relate the positive or negative performances of the students to the teachers as there may be other reasons. Furthermore, the works of students should be assessed in the exams beyond the reach of the teachers in question, in order to maintain the validity of the grades of the students.

In short, as discussed, we should not take an indiscriminate approach for the salaries of teachers. At the same time, under the fair circumstances and provided that the whole effective elements are considered, we can ascribe the performances of the students to the effectuality of their teachers and assign the teacher’s payment accordingly.