Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance

Man should be awarded with incentives based on efforts that one puts on certain work not solely on the basis of the result that is achieved, as the result may depend on several factors that are out of one’s control. One may argue that good amount of effort is likely to get a favourable outcome. However, rewarding someone on the basis of these outcomes would not be just especially when outcome doesn’t reflect the effort. So, in my view it is not plausible to award salaries to the teacher based on the performances of their student.

Student’s performance doesn’t always reflect the effort made by teacher as learning is the process where both learner and the teacher should contribute an equal effort to have a satisfactory outcome. While teacher may put his best efforts to give proper learning environment to students, the students may neglect their duty as learner resulting in poor result. Then would it be plausible to punish teachers for the negligence of their students? Obviously not.

For instance, I studied in one of the government schools of my town. The local government there provided the school with best teachers selected through a thorough examination. In addition, my school had a well equipped library with a good computer facility. Despite such a good teaching-learning environment our school had a poor performance in the national level examination. The major reason for this was that the parents were reluctant to send their children to school because they would help them in household chores. So, if the teachers in my school were paid on the basis of the student’s result how unfair would it be for them.

Finally, proponents of above argument might say that rewarding salaries on the basis of the student’s outcome makes teachers more diligent and teaching-learning environment more favourable. However, there are many such instances in the school when teachers have punished children beyond limits just to force students to study and get a good result for the teacher’s reputation. If a teacher can go this far just to secure his reputation, how far can he/she go when one has an economic stake in the result? So, it is never good to link economic incentive with the result of students if we are to have a good teaching-learning environment.