Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The role a teacher plays in a student’s growth is imperative and may also be viewed as irreplaceable. The given prompt suggests that a teacher’s worth be decided based on how well the students of his/her class are performing. I strongly disagree with this stance as there is a high chance that this method of encouraging teachers to perform well in their jobs may backfire due to the following two reasons.

Firstly, having a scale (in this case, the academic performance of students) which decides a teacher's ability can create a competitive environment among teachers, who now will try their best to ensure that their students' score as high as possible because it is not just their salary that is on line here but also their worth as a teacher. This may sound good in the beginning as teachers will be trying to enhance every student’s performance but it won't be long before some teachers might do just about anything to achieve this goal. Few teachers may even make the testing or syllabus easier for students to score marks. This eventually will only lead to some teachers not being interested in edifying the pupils, instead, only caring about the results of an exam. As explained, this strategy might work initially in creating a fervid environment among teachers but can soon turn out to be detrimental to students' learning.

Even if we take a leap of faith and believe that teachers will not get into a rat race for their salaries and work with probity, we cannot decide a teacher's worth based on the academic performance of his/ her students. Take for example, it is possible that a teacher might have a class of students who are rather slow in studies. No matter how hard the teachers tries, there is only so much that he/she can do to improve their performance within a year. A very diligent teacher might be successful in bringing up the class average from 40% to 60% but this teacher will not be credited as much as another teacher who had a class with a decrease in average from 80% to 70%. At the end of the year, the teacher of the class who's average alleviated will receive a higher salary and this can affect the morale of the sabulous teacher. Clearly, this metric of deciding salaries based on the students' performance is flawed.

In conclusion, the above two reasons clearly indicate why a competition among teachers should not be created as there is a chance that this may affect the morale of some teachers and also hamper the students' education. Therefore, I believe that deciding teacher's salary based on the marksheet of his/ her students may not be an advantageous idea.