Technology has made children less creative as they were in the past

The world today is technology driven and we can not thing about it any other way. But as we know technology has its own benefits, it does comes with some of its disadvantages. The prompt presents an argument whether children are becoming less creative due to introduction of technology. I agree with the statement in prompt due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, technology has made everything excessively convenient. This in turn is leading children to use less of their skills and depend on the gadgets or internet to find all the answers. Whether they need any article for the homework assigned to them or a model for school project; it is just one click away. As a consequence, children these days do not put a lot of effort in the activities assigned to them in school, making them extremely dependent on technology for their everyday tasks. For instance, in all the school during summer vacations, teachers assign 'holiday homework' to students. This holiday homework usually requires students to use their creative skills during the vacations to record their experiences and display them in an interactive manner into a file or in the form of a model. In the past twenty years, these assignments have become absolute for students, as they are not using their own capabilities to deliver the work, instead more than 90 percent of students today google all the assignments they receive from school. This is hindering their creative growth.

Furthermore, most of the children today are so influenced by social media that they copy everything that they see on it. For instance, there are many video apps that encourage people to upload their creative videos on the web. This does sound like a good idea in the beginning, as it encourages children to create videos. However, the way children get influenced by this application is contrary to the intended purpose. Children these days copy a famous video and create an exact copy of that video to achieve the same kind of fame for themselves. Such apps are not only killing the creativity in children but also they are highly addicting; an average child spends more time on social media as compared to family. This issue is prevailing in all parts of the world today and many parents are trying to keep their children away from social media as as possible.

Also, as technology is growing children are also forced to study distinct kind of subjects from an early age. For example, emerging coaching classes are promising parents to make their children into a successful programmer as founder of Facebook. Many parents are falling for this trap as older generation is not as informed about the technology yet. This is leading to a shortened day for children as they are going for such coaching after attending classes in schools. Therefore, government should interfere in such fake promises related to teaching children technology, so that they can have more time for creative activities.

Some may argue that children need to learn technology from an early age ,in such a fast growing global competition that everyone is facing today. But isn't that why children need to live their childhood years away from cell phones and laptops? They are in a phase of life where their brains are developing and influencing them with social media and excessive technical environment might negatively impact their inchoate creativity.