There are two types of laws: just law and unjust law. Every individual in the society has to obey just law and even more importantly, to disobey and resist unjust law.

Laws are the set of rules and regulation imposed by the nation upon each and every individual in order to maintain peace and harmony in the society. I therefore agree with the given statement that the society has to obey just laws and resist unjust laws. However, whether a law is just or unjust is sometimes controversial.

Law is believed to be designed for the welfare of humankind and is equally implemented to all citizens for progress. Any law is considered to be just if it is in favor of majority of the people (if not all). So, it is our responsibility to follow just law. For instance, if a nation implement the law to avoid the use of plastic bags as much as possible considering the dire environmental pollution and the negative consequences it results on human health, then it our social responsibility to obey such law. Similarly, considering severe road accidents and its dire consequences on human life, if the government imposes traffic law to ride below 50km/hr, compulsory fastening of seat belts, sober driving, and obeying traffic signals, then we should follow such law for human safety. Thus, if a law is really just and is in the favor of human well-being, then a society should follow just law.

However, laws are not only just, and history has witnessed several unjust laws that were imposed to general public by the oppressive government for their convenience, and we should strictly oppose such unjust laws as did by leaders in the past. For instance, Abraham Lincoln not only fought against once existing slavery in the United States, but also eliminated it from the history of humankind and brought equality. Similarly, Mahatma Gandhi led the entire Indian mass against oppressive British Imperialism and fought for the independence, against all odds, and succeeded in emancipating India from British imperialism. Further, Nelson Mandela strictly fought against once existing apartheid in South Africa and eventually brought racial quality. History reveals the way our great heroes resisted unjust laws and fought in favor of equality and independence of humankind. I therefore personally believe that we must defy unjust laws.

However, on the other hand, whether a law is just or unjust is sometimes controversial as the law is often guided by various factors such as, social and religious belief, degree of freedom and the level of understanding of the general people. For instance, in some of the society, such as in Islamic society, the law allowing polygamy is a just law, whereas the same is regarded to be unjust in some other society such as, Hindu. Similarly, in some of the broad and advanced society, the law allowing sex before marriage and abortion is just, and the society has no problem being a single parent, whereas the same act is a heinous crime in some of the conservative society. Thus, whether a law is just or unjust is also determined by the social, religious, and cultural notion as well as the level of understanding of the general people.

In conclusion, I agree that if a law is just then the society should follow such law. And if a law is unjust then, we should strictly defy such law. However, on the other hand we should not ignore the controversial nature of some laws.