There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Currently, it is debatable whether the society should make extraordinary efforts to save endangered animal and plant species. Although some people believe that this effort is useless since it threatens people’s money and jobs, I argue that saving lives of endangered species are necessary work that people should take.

If the extinction is due to natural process, there is no justification to put efforts to save those endangered animals and plants. To illustrate, Darwin’s well-known theory of natural selection states that there are some species that are more incline to adopt in environment than others, and this indicates that extinction is sometimes a natural process. If animals or plants are disappeared due to this trend, the human efforts to save those lives are not required.

However, if the extinction is as a consequence of human activities, people should take measure to save these wildness lives. To be more specific, due to endless desire for efficiency and convenience, people in this present day and age continuously develop technologies and infrastructure. As a result, a huge portion of natural resources is used and environmental problems are aggravated. Due to this process, homes of many endangered animals and plants are threatened and the process of extinction exacerbate at the exponential rate. In such cases, people should participate in protecting these endangered species, since it was their activities that jeopardize these animals and plants.

In addition, activities of saving lives of endangered animals and plants should be taken since people have effective measurement to do so without the cost in money and jobs. For instance, it is possible that government designates a place as a national park and provides animals and plants a place to survive. In America, Yellowstone national park is a pristine forest that is home for thousands of animals and plant species. At the same time, since many visitors are coming to this park to enjoy natural views and see wildness species, the government can secure jobs of people and obtain profits from visitors. Consequently, it not only becomes a place to save endangered lives but also a place to foster economy. Therefore, people should put their efforts to save lives of animals, since it does not come at the expense of people’s money and jobs.

In conclusion, people should participate in saving lives of endangered animals and plants if the extinction is yield by human activities. They should take into consider that animals and plants are also crucial part of the planet, and without them, their lives can also be threatened.