"True beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace."

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your essay, consider instances in which the statement does and does not hold true.

The statement argues that commonplace is where we will find true beauty instead of the exceptional. Surely the common day-to-day life does not preclude the existence of beauty. The park at the next corner of your apartment building, when the sun just rises and the birds visit while singing malifluous songs, would definitely comfy your heart. You might find the street artist in your most frequently visited subway station plays Jazz with his antiquated saxophone the most enjoyable thing. We would praise them as being beautiful because that’s what our feeling tells us.

It is true that we can find beauty in daily life, however, beauty would gradually turn to dull due to its easiness to obtained. Walking across a tranquil country road every day lasting for five years, the most imaginative people would feel boring as the same beauty has been praised countless of times. Tackling with the same tasks every day, the most exciting job would become the killer of aesthetics. Repetition, the element most entailed in what we mean by common, is the least place where one would find true beauty.

True beauty comes with the efforts one takes to look for it. It’s rather paradoxical that the most popular scene marked in tourist website is often the most prosaic one. The popularity might result from its convenient transportation as well as smart marketing strategy. With artificial elements proliferate, it is, in many cases the opposite of true beauty. A travelling expert will choose other approaches to plan his or her trip. Instead of a click on the internet, they might contact local resident, read public journals written by previous traveler, and even check for historic books with records of its destination. With many endeavors being made, the exceptional sight will be discovered and true beauty would reveal itself.

What’s in contrast with the word common is uniqueness. Uniqueness is itself is a component of beauty. Just like the great pleasure a baby would have felt when he or she take the first look of the world, a chemist would be thrilled when he or she find a new substance ever appear in the history. Likewise, when the crew of Columbus stepped their feet on America, the New World, the beauty must have been what amazed them first. Scientists spending thousands of hours in lab, explorers who risk their life for the most unique adventure and for new discoveries, craftsman who devotes their life to the creation of the exceptional art… it is true beauty that calls for their dedication. It is to the extent of exceptional that they can find the spirit of true beauty.

In short, one might catch true beauty in commonplace, but the most common way of seeing true beauty is at the most exceptional. The amount of efforts devoted in pursuit of being exceptional are what really marked the essence of true beauty.