The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The website of Mozart School of Music claims that it should be the first choice for children who want to study music. The claim is supported by several statements including the school's inclusive admission, the variety of classes available, the distinguished faculties, and alumnus with a successful career. While the argument sounds attractive, the underlying assumption is unsubstantiated and additional information is needed to evaluate the school.

To begin with, the school implies its inclusiveness by describing how it welcomes learners at all capacity and age level and the fact that it does not require an audition. Parents should choose the school because inclusiveness is a favorable quality they all are looking for. However, it may not be the case for every family. For example, for students who want to advance their skills in a more competitive environment where all their peers can demonstrate mastery of an art genre, the school is unlikely to be a good choice given that it does even require an audition to get in. Another related underlying assumption is that since the school matriculates all sorts of learners, it can also cultivate all of them excellently. However, the inclusiveness as manifested by the school's admission choice does not represent the school's capacities in teaching students from various backgrounds and at different skill levels. Therefore, if the above-mentioned assumptions are violated, the school would not be the perfect fit for all prospective students.

Also, the school cites that it offers a wide array of styles and genres to illustrate its competence compared to other schools. Nonetheless, the fact that the schools offer wide-ranging curriculums does not tell us anything about the quality of its curriculum. It is highly likely that, with limited resources available, trying to be as holistic as possible in its curriculum structure may at the same time hinder its instruction quality. Therefore, the assumption that a variety of instructions available increase the competence of the school is questionable. More evidence is needed to clear the concerns mentioned previously.

The website also highlights its faculty resources to prove the prestige of the school. The claim, however, rests on the assumption that incoming students will have the opportunities to benefit from the instructions from these distinguished faculties. It is very likely that some faculties, though listed on the school website, may not open any course. If this conjecture turns out to be true, it will further weaken the argument that the school should be the top candidate for music learners.

The final point to be examined is whether well-know graduates represent the competence of the school itself. The assumption here is that the major reason behind the success of its alumnus is the education provided by the school. It is a highly questionable assumption in that it may be the endeavors of the graduates, instead of school training, that help them thrive in future careers.

In conclusion, the argument that Mozart School of Music is the best choice for prospective music learner is not convincing because it is based on unsubstantiated assumptions, which, if violated, strongly deteriorate the attractiveness of the school.