Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The argument regards scandals as beneficial since it more effectively draws attention from the general public as compared to other possible approaches. I strongly disagree with it for two reasons: first, most scandals are not based on truthful information but on intentional distortion of reality; second, scandals deviate the attention of the society away from what really matters; And finally, more reliable sources should be utilized to generate public awareness.

To begin with, in many cases, scandals are misinformation that merely serves to attract people’s attention and cause unnecessary panics or anger. We now live in the information age where news can rapidly disseminate and influence people’s attitudes and choices on a daily basis. This property of information dissemination is sometimes misused and can cause damages to the society. For example, in 2011 when the Fukushima nuclear accident occured, rumor had it that there would soon be a shortage of sea salt in food market due to the polluted sea water. This rumor rapidly spread across many countries near Japan and a great number of citizens rushed into the nearby supermarkets and bought a ridiculous amount of salts to prevent a perceived future shortage of salt supply, threatening social stability. It turned out that it was a false information made up by merchants who want to gain a profit from the crisis. Therefore, scandals can do more harm than good because it attracts public attention by sending out untruthful messages and can cause undesired losses.

When it comes to scandals about political figures, one may argue that it can serve as a warning messages for those in power. I agree with this claim to the extent that the scandals are based on facts and are related to public affairs. However, in most instances, scandals about governmental officials are about their private life instead of things pertinent to the rights of citizens or development of the economy. Meanwhile, in order to deal with the inflammatory scandals, politics need to greatly spare their time, as well as energy, that could have been more productively spend on their work. Therefore, if scandals play any role in influencing the climate of opinions, it does so by deviating the valuable attention away from what truly matters.

Admittedly, reforms and speaks tend to emphasize on what is credible and to avoid what is questionable. However, scandals are by no means the right way to address with this challenge. We should establish more reliable channels and platforms on which a diverse set of opinions can be more effectively communicated.

In conclusion, scandals can be more detrimental than beneficial if they are based on disinformation or have little relevance to the actual interests of the people. All stakeholders, ranging from the state, medias, and the mass, should encourage aboveboard dialogues in order to improve transparency and raise awareness of the real challenges we faced.