The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager proposed to expand the late-night programs' coverage of weather and local news as suggested by recent complaints and the declining advertising revenue. However, many assumptions that underly the claim are unsubstantiated. Whether the compliant represents the opinions of the majority of audiences? What are other possible reason for a declining advertising orders? And finally, will the proposed approach engender any opportunity cost? I will elaborate on the three questions in greater details.

To begin with, the manager cited that most of the complaints the program receive shows worries about the station's coverage on weather and local news. There are two assumptions of the above reasoning: first, the complaints are calling for increasing the coverage of weather and local news, instead of further shrinking it. Second, that people who send out complaints can comprehensively represent the general viewers of the station. Whether the complaints can represent the mainstream opinions remains unknown. It is very likely that only 10 percent of viewers feel unsatisfied with the current coverage plan and they all send out complaints, while the other 90 percent of viewers are happy about the change but their voice remain unheard - assuming few people will send a message to the station just because they endorse a recent change. If this is true, then expanding the coverage of weather and local news will instead frustrate more viewers. Therefore, it is highly risky for the station to base its decision merely on this very limited information about viewer complaints.

The manager further argues that local business cancel their advertising order with an implicit implication that they are unsatisfied about recent changes of reducing local news coverage. This assumption, that local businesses are canceling their advertisement because of the downsize of local news. is highly questionable. It can be that the viewers watching late-night news program are downsizing as a whole due to people's preference towards a healthier lifestyle, therefore, the local businesses are switching their advertisement to a day time program with more viewers. It can also be that the local companies are forced to increase their wage spending due to local laws of increasing minimum wages, so most of them are cutting their marketing budget. If either of the previous scenarios is true, increasing coverage on local news will do nothing to regain those advertising revenue.

The last point to be considered is the opportunity cost if we downsizing the reports on national news in order to increase coverage on local and weather news. If the overall time allowed for this program limited, the expansion of weather and local news will come at the cost of a decrease in coverage of national news. If this is the case, further analysis comparing the lose and gain is definitely needed.

In conclusion, the claims by the manager is not convincing because it is based on many questionable assumptions, which, if proved unwarranted, will not achieve the effects it promised and may potentially cause further damage to the station.