Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It has been debated for a long time whether government should pose constraints on the development of science. Some worries that unrestricted scientific development may eventually be turned against the benefit of the masses, some, like me, believe that, in order to unleash the energy for scientific research, government should have very limited, if any, restriction on the progress of science.

Admittedly, certain fields can be dangerous to the entire world if they are given absolute autonomy. For example, the research about nuclear weapons, if not regulated and constrained by the states, would be a serious threats to the human society. For the benefits of all human kinds, no one shall deny the necessity of hampering the development of scientific fields that produce such dangerous weapons. Therefore, it is reasonable and necessary to place restrictions on scientific studies that can cause unimaginable detriments to the societies.

However, it is very difficult to draw the line regarding what to watch out for. If the state become too suspicious, every field can be a threat. Let us imagine a government that ban all studies of medicine because they consider it as dangerous due to the possibility that poison might be created. A government with a overly cautious mindset like this will become the greatest obstacle for any possible scientific achievement, and for sure, it will not be appreciated by the people. Therefore, governments should instead be extremely carefully in limiting its power in scientific development, placing healthy supervision, if needed, instead of blind restriction.

In addition to hampering the overall development of science, the power of government posing constrains on certain studies may serve the special interests of certain political and commercial stakeholders. For instance, a smartphone companies with great political connection may lobby government into restricting the research and development projects of its competitors, thus occupy the market before others do. Therefore, by allowing government to intervene the scientific research in the business world, it will eventually become a tool used by special interest groups that do not goods to the public.

In conclusion, autonomy is the driven engine of all progresses, government should by no means take it away from the science fields. Even though the advancing of certain special field such as nuclear weapons should be carefully restricted, the state should not be allowed to restrict science due to its potential of hampering scientific development and becoming the tool used by certain stakeholders for their special interests.