Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The argument regards scandals as beneficial since it more effectively draw attention from the general public as compared to other ways. I strongly disagree with it for two reasons: first, most scandals are not based on truthful information but on intentional distortion of reality; second, scandals deviate the attention of public from what really matters; And finally, more reliable sources should be depend upon to generate public attention and remain high transparency of government and other institutions in both the public and private sector.

To begin with, in most of the times, scandals are misinformation that merely serves to attract people’s attention and cause unnecessary panics or anger. We now live in an information age where news rapidly disseminate and influence people attitudes and choices at a daily basis. This property of information dissemination is sometimes misused and can cause damages to the society. For example, in 2011 when the Furukuma nuclear pollution occurs, rumor has it that there would soon be a shortage of sea salt in food market due to the polluted sea water. This rumor rapidly spreads in many countries near Japan and many citizens run out of their house and started buy much more salts to prevent a shortage of salt supply in the near future, as the rumor suggested. It turned out that it was a misinformation made up by manchents who want to gain a profit from the crisis. Therefore, scandals can do more harm than good because it attracts public attention by sending out untruthful messages and can sometimes cause undesired consequences.

When it comes to scandals about political figures, one might argue that it can serve as a warning messages for those with power. I agree with this claim to the extent that the scandals have realistic basis and are related to public affairs. However, in most of the cases, scandals about governmental officials are about their private life instead of things pertinent to the rights of citizens or development of the economy. Meanwhile, in order to deal with the inflammatory scandals, politics need to spare their time, as well as energy, that could have been more productively spend on their work. Therefore, if scandals play any role in influencing public opinions, it does so by deviating the valuable attention away from what truly matters.

Admittedly, reforms and speaks tend to emphasize on what is credible and to avoid what is questionable. However, scandals are by no means the right way to address with this challenge. We should establish more reliable channels and platforms on which a diverse set of opinions can be communicated.

In conclusion, scandals can be more detrimental than beneficial if they are based on misinformation and have little relevance to the actual interests of the people. All stakeholders, ranging from the state, medias, and the mass, should encourage aboveboard dialogues in order to guarantee transparency and raise awareness of the challenges we faced.