In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is argued that in the development of any field, past progresses would inevitably influence any possible future breakthrough.  I think this rule holds true in certain fields such as academia. However, in most of the subjects or professions, significant innovation can be reached with no prerequisite.

Let us first start from the case of academic development. As a rule, the significancy of a study is partly determined by how well the author addresses challenges that previous literatures fail to tackle or phenomenon that still remains unexplained in preceding research. The indispensable role of literature review in any academic paper also demonstrates that, to base your discovery or theory on existing progresses is a norm to be followed by any member in the scholar community. For example, one can easily point out the failure of many economists in predicting the trends of housing prices. However, if not first familiarize himself to the assumption behind economic theory, for instance, the assumption that every market participant acts rationally, any attempt to join the discussion and even make contribution would be inefficient and even a waste of time. Therefore, in certain field, contribution evolves principally from a comprehensive and trenchant understanding of the past progresses.

However, in most of the fields, the past can sometimes stagnate, if not harm, the innovation. With a long history, any field would become not a racing ground for progresses, but a system that ensure the interests of the stakeholders. Therefore, if strongly influenced by past progresses, some conventions can do no good to, or even detrimental to any future breakthrough. This is why we always hear the story of success from those who quit their job from giant corporation and start their own company, since a brand new start always brings a new mindset unleashing from the path rooted in the past.

Admittedly, past will always leave its trace on the development of any things, willingly or unwillingly. But it is depending on the individual to decide the extent to which the past influence the future. For example, every teacher was once a student, who had witnessed how their teachers in the past design curriculum and treat students. Nevertheless, they had best not to copy paste the teaching strategies decades of year ago. Good teachers adapt their strategies constantly as students changes, teaching resources being updated, and education philosophies keep evolving.

In conclusion, in field such as academia, strong influences from the past guarantee that every scholar is at the same ground and within the same discourse, thus improve efficiency of communication. It is widely supported, however, that one can make great contribution to a field even if impact from the past is absent. Furthermore, we should intentionally preclude any potential harm derived from the rooted convention in the past and unleash the power of innovation and imagination.