Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is argued that, in order to perpetuate the traditional culture that normally resides in big cities, the state should financially support those cities and keep them in a prosperous state. I disagree with the claim and the assumption upon which it based. Firstly, traditional culture does not only exist in big cities, the rural area are also embedded with abundant ancient legacies. Secondly, to provide financial support does not necessarily lead to efficient and successful cultural preservation, it can sometimes harm it instead. Undoubtedly, cultural traditions needs to be protected, but the identification of needs as well as the approaches we use deserve careful examination.

To begin with, the reason provided is not valid because when it comes to the presence of cultural traditions, the economically developed cities do not always outperform the remoted area. In Brazil, for example, the indigenous tribes, who still embrace a lifestyle that can be dated back to hundreds years ago, are majoritively living in the Amazon jungle. Therefore, it is in the very remote area where tradition keeps its energy. In some cases, it is even the highly developed economy itself that are detrimental to traditions and threaten its perseverance. People who move to the city are likely to be assimilated into the universal modern culture and easily forget the distinguished traditional cultural in which they grew up. Therefore, big cities are not the only place, and sometimes less desirable place, to seek for and sustain our cultural legacy, the less developed or less known area, can be where the true spiritual treasures truely stay.

In addition to the geographical identification of cultural tradition, the approaches the state take are also critical. It is important to bear in mind that, offering financial support does not necessarily sustain cultural in the long-term period, it can even do more harm than good. For instance, in China, the areas where ethnic minorities have lived for hundreds of years, are financially assisted by the local government in order to preserve their culture. However, the supports from government are proved to be ineffective as the local ethnic residents prefer to spend money buying modern products such as TV and refrigerators instead of sustain their culture. Money can do many things, but it fails to provide incentives for a culture to thrive. Therefore, whether providing merely financial supports can be effective in preserving traditions remains highly questionable.

Admittedly, for cultural institutions like museums and research institutions dedicated to cultural studies and protections, government should underwrite these institutions as it is hard for them to make a profit if to preserve the authenticity of traditional cultures is their primary goal. Likewise, for ethnographies who spend their life studying and documenting the traditional customs and beliefs, financial support from the government can be very helpful.

In conclusion, we should not only pay attention to big cities when it comes to cultural protections and development. Sometimes the most valuable cultural assets may reside in the most unexpected area. To spend limited resources in the right way and to the right place requires careful examinations of the situations and professional knowledge and skills in terms of how to let cultures thrive.