Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

How should school financial resources be allocated among different agencies? The author argues that schools should offer same financial supports for sports and social activities as they do for classes and school libraries. While extracurricular interests such as sports and social activities should be encouraged by schools, they should by no means receive equal financial investment as courses and libraries.

To begin with, it is a common knowledge that school has limited financial resources, either from the government or from their endowment funds. Therefore, we can assume that if more funds are allocated to sports and social activities, the funds available for courses and library would be shrinked. The principal goal for schools is to impart knowledge and skills to students so that they can be more prepared to enter the society, and classes and libary are the primary approaches for students to lear. A valid case in point would be that, by spending more on sports and social activities, the school may loose the chance to recruit a distinguished professor at certain field thus prevent students to learn from great faculty. Therefore, it would be imprudent for schools to sacrifice the development of coureses and library to support extracurricular activities.

Secondly, only a certain portion of student population devote their time in sports and social activities, but definitely all students take classes and most of them will take advantage of the library resources. Accordingly, if, as opposed by the author, the school spend equal amount of money on extracurricular activities and courses and library, it would be unfair for those students who have no interests in sports and social activities. Therefore, I disagree with this proposal due to the consideration that it only benefit a limited group of students and thus make it an overall rather unfair policy.

Admittedly, classes and library are not the only place where students can learn, and sports and social activities can indeed help cultivate students in a more holistic way. For example, many social activities are conductive to students communication skills and leadership. However, it does not necessarily mean that school should financially support them. For instance, social activity groups can seek for sponsorship outside of schools and by doing so, will provide greater opportunities for students to grow their capacities.

To sum up, I stronly disagree with the proposal that calls for equal financial supports to sports and social activities. It sacrifices the potential development of classes and libraries, which is the most important agencies that serves the primary goals of colleges and universities. It is also an unfair policy because only certain students benefit from it. And lastly, sports and social activities should carry the burden to finance for themselve, which may lead to greater learning opportunities.