True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself. I completely agree with the statement above. Success is nothing but satisfaction that comes from within after you achieve what you have desired for. I believe it is not something that a third person could decide for somebody whether the person is successful.

For example, If a person aspires to be a painter, what success means to him is reaching the goal what he has aimed for. It could merely be selling a painting or getting his painting put up in an exhibition. It is absolutely determined by the goal he has set for himself. If the person has chosen the career that he is passionate about success is something that just comes along the happiness one gets by pursuing what they love. It is nothing that is measured in terms of money or status or bank balance and no matter what people in the society tell him he would always be proud of himself and nothing one would ever say that could make him feel small about himself.

There could be a film that portrays a social issue but is not encouraged by the audience as it is not something everyone would understand. It aims to target discerning people. This does not imply that that particular movie maker is not successful.

A person is working in a company and aims to get promoted to a higher level but someone else gets that promotion. This does not mean he is not successful. Success should never me quantified on a scale set by the awards and promotions in the society.

Let us consider, if one chooses a different path other than what they really want to do, then it inhibits them from feeling proud about themselves. They would be oblivious to the word 'success' for the rest of their lives. No matter where they reach, it would never satiate their needs. Success for such people would always be materialistic and hence, they could never have enough of it. For example, if one is a talented dancer and wants to build a career in that particular field but is pursuing engineering under parental pressure, might become ''successful'' but will still never be satisfied. It is all about where one's propensity is towards.

Therefore, it is true success only if it had been achieved going on a path that you chose for yourself and not somebody else. Nothing could stop a man from being successful given he has a clear picture of what he wants to do in his mind, does not

vacillate from one option to the other and has a complete sense of sincerity and responsibility.