To understand the major characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

What defines a society? A society is viewed as an environment or a surrounding where a group of people sharing various characteristics such as origins, ethnicity, and so forth, interact and connect with one another. Knowing the parameters that defines a society require the understanding and comprehension of the various aspects and locations located within that society. I personally would agree with the statement that evaluating the major cities of a societal environment would provide major glimpse of what a society is. However, people often neglect certain societal aspects and cities, which despite being minor or small, may give great value and worth to the society in question. Therefore, in order to understand a society, one must all elements that represent that society which include major as well as minor cities and locations.

One aspect that could be discussed in favor of the statement is based on the fact, that major cities of a societal surrounding has the potential to provides certain ideas associated with a society, particularly in terms of luxury, power and even economy. In fact, visiting a place that presents a luxurious and elaborate environment would indicate similar pattern within the surrounding society. Similarly, a poor neighborhood would propel people to view the surrounding society as indigent and uninspiring. Furthermore, countries or societal environments can be classified based on their capacities for developments, progression and technology. In fact, the presence or absence of various technological developments and discoveries is what distinguishes a third-world country such as Lebanon and Palestine from developed countries such as the United States and Japan. In fact, the USA or japan are viewed as developed countries based on the fact that technological and luxurious developments are present within certain major cities, neglecting the fact that other minor cities might actually lack such luxury and economy. This argument provides ideas on how people evaluate a society merely based on its major cities and what’s presented within in.

What about minor elements? Aren’t those considered as important in order to evaluate a society and understand certain of its characteristics? Certain minor cities, which despite lacking luxury that might be present within major cities, might actually various various touristic locations and even cultural and historical elements that people all around the world may find intriguing. In fact, people would travel to a certain country merely to visit such locations. For instance, Lebanon, although viewed as a minuscule under-developed countries, is actually the site of various touristic places such as “Jetta Grotto” and even “Baalou’ Bal’a”. This fact would suggest that the cultural and historical value of a society could be essentially attributed to cities that despite being minor, may give a great value to the entire society in which it is present.

In conclusion, it is practically impossible to evaluate a society without considering all the elements that represent it. In fact, a society could be evaluated in terms of various parameters such as luxury, culture, tourism and even history. Understanding all those parameters requires not only the aspects that are associated with major cities, but also the ones associated with minor cities, that despite being viewed as minuscule, could provide a great sense of comprehending a society to a similar extent to larger cities, if not greater.