“To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.” Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your opinion

People may believe that you will gain the most information about a society by looking strictly at it’s most populous cities. I do not believe that this is true, I believe that you can gain just as much if not more by looking at a mix of a countries more populated areas and it’s less populated areas. If you strictly look at the most populated areas you will probably be looking at cities and the middle to upper class people in a society. If you are looking at the most populated areas of a city you will almost always include the capital of the country or area, and these can be almost like completely different worlds, mainly consisting of politicians.

A lot of countries and areas have a mix of both cities and rural farming areas. These two different living situations would lead to two very different types of people and ways of life. A city would typically have middle to upper-class business people, whereas a rural farming area would generally be lower to middle-class farmers. If you limit your view of a country to it’s most populated regions, then you will see the cities with the middle and upper-class business people, but you would not see the people that live and work on farms that struggle to make ends meet. You would not get the whole picture just by looking at the more populated regions, but if you looked at a mix of the most and least populated areas in whatever region you are examining, then you would get a more complete picture of life, culture, and society.

Capital cities are often some of the most populated regions in a country or region. These capital cities are also mostly populated by well off people who work in some facet in politics. Capital cities are generally very different than how the average person in that region actually lives. The capital cities are maintained very well in regards to road work, sanitation, homeless population, etc.. Capital cities are often even different than other large cities in a region in that sense. Therefore, capital cities being included in the most populated regions causes more differences than the average American region and person than just limiting the scope to the more populated cities and regions.

We can look at this argument in reference to the United States. Some of the most populated cities are New York City, Washington D.C., Los Angeles California, and Miami Florida. All four of these cities are very different, however looking at these specifically will not give you a good overall view of life in the United States. If you examine just these cities, then you will not have an idea of how the people in the rural midwestern states like Idaho, Indiana, and Oklahoma live. You will think that everyone lives in a populated city with sky rise buildings and fancy cars. You will believe that every area has a lot of homeless people with few homeless resources, which is not the case everywhere.

I believe that you will gain more information about a society by looking at a mixture of it’s larger and smaller cities in order to see how all areas of the socioeconomic status spectrum live. This will give you a better understanding about different cultural normalities as well as a better appreciation for the society as a whole. This can be tested in the United States, or any other country that has a mixture of larger and smaller cities.