“To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society consists of different types of individuals such that each individual has different tastes, life-styles and beliefs. Therefore, the society is being resembled to a puzzle and it is said that, ‘to understand the puzzle as a whole you should be aware of each component of this puzzle’. It may be a good idea to study its major cities to understand the most important characteristics of a society. However one may also analyse the society by not focusing on major cities but by concentrating also on the rest of the cities/other particular regions/ minor cities local.

The major cities of a society include a lot of the characteristics of this society. Since major cities provide people more opportunities to work under better conditions, people from the different parts of the society choose to come to these cities and they want to reside in these cities in order to access better life conditions. So, the major cities give us important clues about the society’s characteristics. We can think of these cities as a miniature of the big society.

Even though it sounds logical that one must study the major cities to be able to understand the major characteristics of the society, omitting the analysis of the local and just focusing on the major cities is not adequate to infer the features of the society. The people who migrate to the big cities change their life styles dramatically and they start to maintain a life as if they have been the residents of these cities right from the beginning. However, the people who still live in the particular non-major parts of the society by not choosing to migrate to the big cities indicates completely different characteristics that are indigenous to this particular area. So that is why the people who are living in the non-major cities, that is the local people of those cities who have not migrated, are the real indicators of the characteristics of those specific cities. That is why it will not be enough to study the major cities to capture the main characteristics of the society.

To conclude, understanding the main characteristics of the society is a complicated task. It will be a good idea to study the major cities because one can find a lot of things that reflects the characteristics of the society but it will never be enough to capture it all by just analysing the major cities.