To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Here author trying to say that by studying major cities of country, one can understand most important characteristic of a society. However,it is not true all of the time because without knowing which characteristics are important to study get better knowledge about a society. There are diffrent variety of characteristic and only one part of country will not cover all the aspects of a society.

There are many countries where majority of the population of country live in rural or small town, Therefor, by studying only major cities will not give clear picture about all the characteristics. For instance in country Like India more than 70% people live in rural area or small town. Hence to get whole picture about characteristic of society it is necessary to consider small town and other parts of country. Whereas, big cities are mixture of different people from different countries so it is difficult to study about traditions and culture of society.

However,it is also depends on which types of characteristics are important. For example characteristics like political and economical which can be understood by studying big cities. Or aspects like traditions and cultural which can be understood by studying rural area or small town where tradition and cultural are still preserved.

In sum, to study all important aspects of society one should also consider rural and small towns of country where many important aspects are better to study than big cities.