To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Major cities are often packed with people from many different backgrounds, so it is safe to assume that useful insights can be gained by studying the characteristics of people living in these cities. However, the characteristics of people living in urban and rural are hardly similar, and so major cities may not be representative for the entire society. Based on the context of a characteristic and society, the argument may be justified or not.

First of all, the term “most important characteristic” is vague in this context, since what people can experience in major cities is definitely different than in rural areas. In fact, some characteristics are much more prevalent and may be considered important in these areas. For instance, it is much more common to see young people respect the elderly in outer suburbs. This is hard to be seen in major cities, since the hard circumstances there force people as an individual rather than a member of a community. If social behaviour is an integral characteristic of a society, then major cities cannot clearly depict the characteristics of a society, unless the objective is changed to understand the society only living in cities.

Secondly, the scope of the society in this context is not demonstrated clearly. It is not apparent whether the society is of the people in the entire province, island or even country. The bigger the scope, the less representative the people in the major cities are. It is become more noticeable if the scope is a country, because people living in isolated villages obviously have no access to major cities and therefore may hardly be included as a part of society if major cities are assumed to be representative for the country. Consequently, perfect generalization of the characteristics of a society in a country is hardly attainable, since even adjacent cities may have polar opposite characteristic.

To sum it up, major cities provide only the overview but not a complete picture of a society. In depth understanding of a society requires thorough investigations and observations to not only the cities, but also the rural regions.