To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Endeavour to study the most important characteristics of a society is something that many social researchers are actively trying to do. However, it would be wrong to state that the in order to contemplate the most important aspects of a society, one must study its major cities. A simple reason would be that the urban population is simply not representative of the entire society, as it doesn't consider into account the characteristics of the people living in small towns or villages.

The lifestyle of people living in major cities is significantly different than the people living in villages or small towns. This can be observed from the contrasting lifestyle of the people. In major cities, people have a very busy, ambitious and modern life style. The structure of society is entirely different. People are more inclined towards their own schedules and are more focused in attaining their goals. In fact they are so engrossed with their work that they don’t even consider communicating with their own neighbours. Whereas, this is simply not the scenario in small towns or villages. People living in these areas generally lead a simple life, devoid of huge ambitions and spend a considerable amount of time socializing with other people living nearby. Hence, we can clearly observe the stark difference in the lifestyles of people living in major cities and villages. Hence, trying to draw the most important characteristics of a society from the urban population itself would not be justified.

Apart from the above, if we look carefully, the society structure is completely different in people living in villages and large cities. A simple example would be the villages and major cities of India. The villages in India, have a very different society structure. Here, the village is headed by the most elderly person of the village, whose decision is revered by all the inhabitants of the village. Hence, when a dispute arises amongst the inhabitants, rather than following a proper judicial system, generally the justice is delivered by the village headman. However, if we consider the major cities, there is no such thing. Whenever there is a dispute between the people, they move to the courts for justice, rather than a small gathering. Thus, again trying to draw the picture of the most important characteristics of the society solely from urban population would be detrimental, as it would not consider the societal aspects of village life.

In addition, today the major cities are full of vehicles and pollution. Any major city is generally described by fast moving people, lots of vehicles and exorbitant amount of sound and noise pollution. Apart from the above, major cities are generally characterised by huge number of high rise buildings and concrete roads. But this is not true for small townships or countryside. The countryside is generally devoid from all the above. It is generally serene, peaceful and free of pollution.

However, it is definitely true that a significant number of people live in the major cities. Hence, to some extent it would be right to simply consider the important characteristics of the society from the urban population. But is not true everywhere. In several countries, like India, more people live in the country side rather than in major cities. Hence, in these countries trying to draw the important characteristics of the society from the major cities would not give us a very clear picture of the society.

Hence, in a nutshell, trying to gather knowledge about the important aspects of a society from the major cities is not a very good idea considering the good number of people living in the village side. Moreover, the significant differences in the surroundings and lifestyle of the people living in urban and village areas.