The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The authority for the well-being of a society is generally given to a handful people who are deemed by the people as responsible and capable. These people help in ensuring that an order is maintained in the society thereby improving the well-being of the society. However, when the authority is given the freedom to function independently, without being answerable to the citizens, it might become detrimental as they might not fear or think critically before taking important decisions.

A person ,no matter how sincere, becomes negligent in his duties and responsibilities when he has no one to answer to. Thus, if the authority responsible for maintaining the social order in the society becomes answerable to no one, then it will not consider taking the decisions which will be harmful for the people living in the society. Moreover, when people question the authority at regular intervals, the power that these handful people yield, is kept in check. Thus, the misuse of power is also kept in check. If the authority becomes unquestionable, then it ultimately turns into a monarchy, where few people exercise unlimited power. A simple example to portray this would be Adolf Hitler. When after 1st World War, Germany as a nation was completely destroyed. It was in economic ruins. Thus, Adolf Hitler took the responsibility of improving the the economic conditions of Germany and thus arrange a coup-de-tat in order to overthrow the slack government. People being happy with the work of Adolf Hitler, did not question his authority. However, as time passed Adolf Hitler grew bolder and did not bother to become answerable to the society. As a result, Adolf Hitler single-handedly decided to wage second world war, which ultimately led Germany into ruins. Thus, in order to maintain checks and balances in the society, it is essential for the people to question their authority.

However, there are some instances where people questioning the authority becomes detrimental. A critical example of this would be matters related to national defence. These crucial decisions should devoid of public questioning, because they impact the national security. Moreover, decisions which require prompt response, the questioning of the decisions by the public will cause harmful delays.

Thus, it is very much essential that people question their authority in order to maintain the well being of a society because, these very checks ensure that the authority performs their duties diligently.