To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The mentioned issue invokes a thinking process on whether the major cities alone can yield enough information for the societies they represent. From the historical evidences, we know that many ancient civilizations like Ancient Egypt, Roman, Indus valley etc existed and flourished in their times. However, as the whole world moved toward the modern era, these civilizations were not able to cope with the changes and they dissolved; with only a few generations of such societies left today in their major cities. So, I couldn’t agree completely that analysis of major cities alone enough to understand the existing societies.

First, in order to understand a society, we should analyse the idiosyncratic norms of a society such its religious beliefs and their cultural traditions: cuisine, language, traditional dress etc. However, as the world has entered a modern era, each country is moving towards the goal of development. Within any country, the major cities are being developed in the field of economy and technology. For example, Mumbai, a major city in the state of Maharastra India, was popularly known for the “Maratha” civilization in the past. Now, Mumbai has become the Financial, entertainment and commercial capital of India. People from all over world come to Mumbai to do business, start-ups, invest, study etc. and hence a centre for various cultures. The cultural diversity of Mumbai can be understood by the L&T company, which was started by two Danish Engineers, Larsen and Toubro in the field of designing engineering equipments. Also, universities like the “Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai” enjoys a great diversity of students from all over the world which can practice their own religion and their culture according to their will. The above example demonstrates that Mumbai has a great diversity of culture from different societies which are co-existing together and hence Mumbai, a major city alone cannot characterise the idiosyncratic “Maratha” civilization of Maharashtra.

On the other hand, most small towns and cities within a state are preserving the integrity of their unique civilizations. Bishnoi village, a small town in the city Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India fits perfectly in this context. In today’s modern world, people in Bishnoi village still wear their traditional dresses like dhoti and kurta, practices hand-weaving for carpet making, grows opium for religious purposes and deifies the flora and fauna of their village; which one may not be able to discover in major cities like Mumbai where people prefer western dressing, use machine-made carpets, disrupts the natural food web of animals and plants in the name of development like for making roads, hotels, statues etc. The Bishnoi village people believe that it is their duty to practice the mentioned activities and to preserve their society’s idiosyncratic culture. From this example we can get a detailed information of a society by investigating such small towns and villages since these villages kept themselves apart from the modern idea of development which tries to unite the existing societies and thus uniqueness of any culture is lost.

In the conclusion, we can say that we need to analyse the small towns or cities within a state to understand the characteristics of a society. Major cities can give the big idea of economy, development etc but such cities have now become a hub of diverse cultures and thus idiosyncrasy of a society is difficult to observe in such cities. Hence, a focus on small towns and cities will yield better information on any society which the town represents.