You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

i. Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world.

ii. Why is this?

iii. What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Throughout the globe, the netizens of a majority of countries, preferring solar energy as the source for their domestic energy use. Although solar energy is environmental-friendly and doesn't require fuel to work, it is highly dependent on climate and generates electricity on sunny days only. The advantages of solar energy, however, easily outweigh its disadvantages when compared with other sources.

Solar energy is the cleanest and efficient form of energy since sunlight captured by a solar panel is directly converted to electricity. Additionally, there is no cost required to run the solar panel via fuels: petrol, diesel or natural gases, making solar energy the cheapest source. For instance, in India, farmers use solar energy to power their homes and water pumps to irrigate their crop fields. They even sell extra energy, if produced, to their regional electricity boards to generate additional profits. Therefore, solar energy is beneficial to both humankind and nature since it is pollution-free power.

Despite the pros, climate and environment drastically affects the performance of the solar panel since the amount of energy generated is dependent on the quantity of sunlight trapped. So, solar energy is not a consistent power source, especially in winter and rainy seasons, thus forcing people to rely on other types of energy. Also, a polluted environment can hinder the capturing of sunlight by refecting the same, making solar energy useless even in summer seasons. For example, at present India's solar capacity is 25 Gigawatts(GW) and has a target of reaching 100 Gigawatts(GW) by 2022. However, the capacity will increase to only 46 GW by the end of 2022 because of adverse climate conditions like unpredictable rainfalls, cold or smog environment, obstructing trapping of sunlight. Thus, the performance of solar energy is weather dependent and hence, a variable source.

To conclude, the usage of solar energy has become incredibly common. While there is no doubt that solar energy is not an all-time source, but its capability to generate direct electricity makes it the cheapest and purest energy source.