To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

The speaker claims that one must study its major cities for understanding the most important characteristics of a society. Though, cities of a society represent most of its cultural importance but that importance not only limited to the extent of the cities. In my opinion, I am partially agree with the speaker because of three reasons.

Admittedly, cities present most of the contemporary important characteristics because of its diverse cultural and ethical values than rural areas. A city mostly filled with all types of people found in a society started from thief to pious person, most advanced and well educated to reprobate also found in the cities. these diverse combination of the people makes cities dynamic in nature and more developed than rural areas. The cities of a society not only consist of the different types of people but also people from different origin, who comes from different part of the country and started living together. Inherent characteristics of the city includes more developed in structure and living standard and more importantly developed in education and knowledge. it is a common saying that to know the important feature of society it is obvious to see the university or more broadly education system of a society. The universities of a society mostly situated in the city and these universities student represents educational, cultural and ethical view of a society. Houses and important construction that represent an important aspect of the society also measured by the perspective of the cities. Broad scope of the cities not only make cities important centre of the trade and administrative but also the centre of the cultural history and achievement.

Conversely, rural life bear the significant important value in case of representing tradition that started many generation ago. Peaceful life and slow change of the culture and less dynamic than cities, a village is no less important in presenting important feature of a society. pastoral life includes old tradition and farming and many of old activities that continuing from more than hundred years. This strong culture that evolving from the very beginning of that society not only represents current value and ethics but also value and ethics from far past. culture counted as one of the most important feature of a society, song, drama, dress, and different occasion made village one of the important source of cultural heritage of a society. What you can learn from pastoral life will never learn from the ever shifting life style of big cities.

In conclusion, some characteristics of society most vivid in rural areas and some are in cities. In case of cultural development and structural development cities are best and in case of old history and living pattern mostly coexist with the rural area.