To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.
A country is a large society where people of various caste, cullture, background and other aspects
live together. Many may know about some parts of this society and might consider it trivial while
some might consider other parts trivial. The prompt is to get information about a specific area
by studying major parts of it. It compares society to a land where a certain type of vegetation is
most productive an to sudy about the study of land one can study the type of production of the land.
I strongly disagree with the prompt beacause study of some part is determined by the aspect under consideration.
One can get the most information by studying a certain area whereas other may not find the area useful.
Which city is to be studied is determined by the type of case an individual considers crucial and it is
explained by these two points.
Firstly,To get a brief knowledge of a specific cultural group one must study the area to which the group
are native. Some group may dwell in the sophisticated cities whereas some may reside in rural areas or
even may live primitively. For instance, to know about Chepang people of Nepal we must go to the deep
forest area of tropical region where they inhibit. They donot come to developed areas despite being
offered houses and other donations. Whereas, to know about Rana people we must go to developed areas
beacause Ranas are mostly sybarite. They want to live their life in an enhanced way surrounded by
technologies and comfort. The study to bea taken in consideration is deterined by the group under study.
Secondly, If a person want to learn about some religious heritage site one must look about the places
where the sites are present not the role of the city in the society. Suppose to know about the religious
site of Muslim people the first place that comes in anyone mind is Macca-Madina of Saudi Arab which is one
of the major city of the country since millions of people from the world visit there annually. Macca is the
city from where Saudi earns billions of revenues from tourist evry year and is also well planned city to
make visit of the people memorable. But, the birthplace of Lord Ram of Hindu people, Ayodhya, is not a
major city of India. Many Indians have not gone to the place till and even have no plans ahead.
However, when the consideration of development is the pivotal study one must always choose the urbane areas.
Development in a part of society easies a larger area than the area of development. Many countries have only
one international airport, world stature playground, and a few renowned universities that can be found only in
major cities. Is really the study of deveopment only the areas enhanced? Study of development also requires
to focus attention on the areas where the development has not been grasped. Thus the study area is choosen
only on the basis of the factor to be considered not weather the part the area plays on the society. Certain
characterstics may be a major focus to some but minor to other consequently the city under study.