The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station concludes that change in format of radio increases the number of listeners. He comes to this conclusion based on sales of recorded music as well as local observation. The author's assertion might be true, but following three explanations must be substantiated to evaluate the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that changing from current rock format increases the quantity of listeners. It is possible that these wavering formats of the radio aggravates its regular listeners. These people who usually listen to WWAC radio for its best rock music if not provided the music of their taste, can cause further decrease in listeners. It is also possible that the station may not meet the requirements of people that like another format causing the next design of program also be ephemeral; further declining the target people of the station. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the manager assumes that there is relation between sales of recorded music and interest in music. Perhaps, music available in internet is of better quality and easily accessible to people than which is recorded that cause the shift of listening from recorded disc to online music. Also, the local sellers may not have made available the cassettes of new songs so people are attracted to other stores outside the area to buy recorded music. If any of these are true, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly flawed.

Finally, it is assumed that news and talk programs are popular and such shows can wax the quantity of WWAC lovers. It might be true that even though people like the episodes of interview with famous people they do not want to listen to it all day. Such programs are only loved sporadically and changing the whole system of radio to frequent talk shows is reproached by customers. Moreover, only shows that feat luminous people are preferred highly and the shows that includes less popular celebrities are found boring and tedious. These banal formats can cause noticeable decline in number of listeners rather than increase it. If any of these cases are valid, then the credibility of the argument is hindered.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to provide evidence to these three explanations (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be determined.